• Text size
  • Send this article to a friend
  • Print this article

Crossroads do the handicrafts double

IN WHAT has been an exceptional year for the Ayrshire club, Crossroads lifted both the junior and senior titles in the handicraft competitions at the Royal Highland Show.

And they won both by only half a point ahead of fellow Ayrshire club, Mauchline, who came second among the seniors at last year's competition.

Winning the senior section, which continued the anniversary goings on with a theme of 75th Celebrations, for Crossroads with 125.5 points were Callum Smith, Laura Hamilton, Lynne Smith, Katie Braithwaite, Nicola Gault and Andrew Ireland.

Coming in second with 125 on the board were Jan Laird, Karen Gemmell, Jennifer Nisbet, Lisa Young, Eilidh Fergusson and Gwen Smith from Mauchline while the team from East Fife, with members Lorna Lannigan, Lousie McNicoll, Lauren Wood, Josie Mallinson, Jen Wood and Lianne Brunton, finished in third with a score of 123.75.

And it was and an even closer affair in the International Exchange themed junior competition as the top three teams were seperated by just half a point each.

Crossroads' Catriona Hoy, Heather MacDonald, Erin Shearer and Jane Strawhorn came up trumps with 89.5 points while in second place was the team from Mauchline, with members Hope Barrie, Dawn Armour, Heather Johnston and Eilidh Howat gaining a score of 89. Picking up third with 88.5 was the Peeblesshire team of Megan Noble, Jennifer Jeffery and Damelza Anderson.

The Davidson family, of Poldean, Moffat, were awarded the Ritchie Trophy, which was kindly donated by James Watt in memory of the Ritchie Brothers to recognise a significant contribution to the Young Farmers.

Winning The Scottish Farmer club of the year was Stranraer and Rhins while Machars won the club with the best recruitment figures.

Among the other competitions, Mauchline's Alison Hunter sewed her way to success in the catwalk couture competition and Strathbogie's Gemma Duguid and Michelle Connon cooked up a storm to win the ready, steady country cooks.

And in the photography section Gail Robertson, from Strathmore, again led the way snapping the best photos in the associate section while West Renfrew's Lauren Brocket won the award for the seniors.


Junior arts and crafts – 1, Crossroads, 89.5; 2, Mauchline, 89; 3, Peeblesshire, 88.5. Special awards – Passport holder – Catriona Hoy, Crossroads, 19. Promotional poster – Susan Lang, Lanark, 20. Mascot – Heather Johnstone, Mauchline, 19.5. Further article – Eilidh Howat, Mauchline, 19. Appearance and display – Hannah Wood and Mhairi Ogilvie, Kinross, 19.5.

Senior arts and crafts – 1, Crossroads, 125.5; 2, Mauchline, 125; 3, East Fife, 123.75. Specials awards – Hand drawn invitation – Vicki Scott, Kilmaurs, 19. Cake (decoration only) – Karen Gemmell, Mauchline, 19. Dried flower arrangement – Anne McMillan, Ayr, 20. Decorated pair of glasses – Josie Mallinson, East Fife, 19.5. Evenin bag – Nicola Gault, Crossroads, and Kirsty Morton, SSS. Further article – John Crawford, Ayr, 19.5. Appearance and display – Mhairi Lake and Katie Watson, Carluke, 19.

Catwalk couture – 1, Alison Hunter, Mauchline; 2, Ruth Thomsons, Lower Speyside; 3, Helen Hamilton, SSS.

Ready, steady, country cook – 1, Gemma Duguid and Michelle Connon, Strathbogie; 2, Nicky Wilson and Matt Waldie, East Fife.

Photography – Associate – Gail Robertson, Strathmore; 2, Sarah Miller, Forfar. Senior – 1, Lauren Brocket, West Renfrew; 2, Amanda Stewart, SSS; 3, Hazel Ritchie, West Renfrew.

Ritchie trophy to recognise significant contribution to Young Farmers – The Davidson family.

Member recruitment – District – Dumfries and Galloway; 2, RNI; 3=, East Aberdeenshire, Border Federation and Argyll. Club – 1, Machars; 2=, Thornhill and Inverross.

Participation – District – 1, Lanarkshire; 2, Ayrshire; 3, Clyde and Central.

The Scottish Farmer club of the year – 1, Stranraer and Rhins; 2, Ayr; 3= Kinross and Strathearn.

RHASS challenges – Pole climbing – 1, Lewis Thomsons, Perthshire; 2, Gavin Dunbar, Lanarkshire; 3, Ian Turnbull, Fife and Kinross. Construction – 1, Patrick MacDonald and Jonathon Sloan, Fife and Kinross; 2, Murray Wilson and Craig McWhirter, Angus Tayside; 3, Euan Penny and Alexander Marshall, Perthshire. Quiz – 1, Euan Penny and Alexander Marshall, Perthshire; 2, Piter Mitchell and Alison Watson, Angus Tayside; 3, Lynne Smith and Robert Ramsay, Ayrshire.

Additional Images: 

Commenting & Moderation

We moderate all comments on The Scottish Farmer on either a pre-moderated or post-moderated basis. If you're a relatively new user then your comments will be reviewed before publication and if we know you well and trust you then your comments will be subject to moderation only if other users or the moderators believe you've broken the rules, which are available here.

Moderation is undertaken full-time 9am-6pm on weekdays, and on a part-time basis outwith those hours. Please be patient if your posts are not approved instantly.