THREE NEW awards – for leadership, innovation and communication – are to be presented at Confor’s expanded Forestry Dinner and Awards Evening this February.

The new prizes join the well-established 'Dedicated Service to Forestry' award as the programme is extended to reflect the growth of the industry.

Confor CEO Stuart Goodall said: “The forestry and wood sector is buoyant and expanding – with every hope of further growth as political parties start to buy into our important messaging about the need to expand forest cover in the UK to support our economy, environment and communities.

"We want to reflect the optimism of the sector by recognising excellence. The Dedicated Service to Forestry Award is the premier industry prize, but we wanted to reward quality more widely across the sector. We are delighted to be able to award three new prizes, thanks to great support from our sponsors. The awards reflect three key pillars needed to make any industry successful – great leadership, constant innovation and brilliant communication."

The three new awards are:

• Future Forestry Leader Award, sponsored by James Jones and Sons Ltd – for an individual with outstanding skills, who has the potential to be a leader in the forestry and timber sector – someone showing initiative, passion and making a real difference to the sector;

• Changing Attitudes Award, sponsored by Scottish Woodlands Ltd – for an individual or business promoting the forestry and wood sector in a positive and impactful way – through personal engagement, campaigning or communication, social media or other ways;

• Innovation and Research Award, sponsored by Forestry Commission and Forestry and Land Scotland – for a business or individual delivering successful innovation and/or research which has clearly demonstrated greater productivity or efficiency in the forestry and wood industry.

Cabinet Secretary for the Rural Economy Fergus Ewing will be guest of honour at the dinner, to be held at The Sheraton Grand Hotel in Edinburgh on February 25, alongside Sir Harry Studholme, who is stepping down as chair of Forestry Commission.

If you wish to nominate someone for one of these awards, send the following details via email to no later than January 28, 2020.

• Name of person nominated:

• Organisation and job title of person nominated:

• Which award you are nominating them for:

• Reason for nomination (summarise in 150-200 words, adding any relevant links if necessary);

• Name, mobile number and email address of person nominating.