The recent horsescotland National Equestrian Awards 2020 saw some of the leading figures in the business be rewarded for their efforts.

Sponsored by RHASS, these prestigious awards celebrate and honour the outstanding contributions within Scottish equestrianism. RHASS chairman, Bill Gray, said: “We are proud and delighted to sponsor the awards again this year.

The society’s charitable remit is to support rural Scotland and these valuable awards help achieve this by celebrating and recognising the achievements of those involved in the Scottish equestrian sector.”

The awards were presented by Mr Gray and the speaker, Jonty Evans.

The full list of winners

Equestrian Business of the Year – A2B Equestrian, a Stirlingshire small business which ensures its range of products is constantly expanding with particular emphasis placed on safety wear.

Employee of the Year – Caroline Heard, a World Horse Welfare employee who had made a significant contribution to the welfare of the equine in Scotland.

Youth Coach of the Year – Lisa Stevenson, and inspirational young lady who dedicated her teenage years volunteering with the RDA.

Young People’s/and Participation Coach of the Year – Lynne Blore, another dedicated to ensuring that children with disabilities or facing significant life challenges get access to the power of horses.

Performance Coach of the Year Award – Harry Payne, one of Scotland’s most qualified and respected coaches.

Youth Performer of the Year – Millie Lawson, who has won at the highest level in Scotland and the UK throughout 2019 and is a fabulous ambassador for equestrianism in Scotland.

Performer of the Year – Rosa Onslow, member of the horsescotland elite performance squad, has represented GB at Young Riders and Senior Nations Cup Level in 2019. She finished the season as the highest placed Scottish rider on FEI world rankings and the highest ranked Scottish U25 rider on points.

Youth Volunteer of the Year – Chelsea Trickovic, a dedicated young lady who has overcome significant adversity to gain experience and knowledge of equestrianism. She is a valuable team member of Equitots Lanarkshire Community Interest Company.

Volunteer of the Year – Marjory McNaughton, a volunteer who has been involved with British Showjumping since 1979 and holds many volunteer positions.

Club of the Year – Ayr Riding Club, which provides a safe, fun, nurturing and inclusive environment for development of its members and is an extremely active affiliated riding club.

Team of the Year – Joint equal winners – Kelso High School’s senior team, which has qualified for the National Schools Equestrian Association Championships in Buckinghamshire every year since 2014 and has won at least one championship every year since 2015. Joint equal winners – Scottish Endurance Team, achieved outstanding results in 2019 and consistently over the past four years.

Equine Breeder of the Year – Harry Sleigh, who comes from a long generation of equine breeders, famous for the Wells Stud of Shetland ponies.

Owner of the Year – Lady Mary Hope, whop has given unyielding support through the inevitable highs and lows of horse ownership and competition providing her rider with the opportunity to succeed.

Writer of the Year – Hilary Mactaggart, who has been providing equestrian cover for some 40 years. Hilary was Scottish showing reporter for Horse and Hound for 15 years, plus she produced point-to-point reports for The SF for more than 10 years.

Equestrian Photo of the Year – Chloé Brown, who secured the most on line votes, 923 votes, for her winning photo.

Lifetime Achievement – Willie Sheret, a Glasgow ‘boy’ who started riding horses at the age of five and competing at age 13.

He joined the British Army in 1947 and was stationed in Berlin, where he was asked to look after the stables near the Berlin Olympic Stadium and studied under the German show jumper Otto Klitzki. He went on to compete for the British Army at showjumping and returned home to the UK in 1949 and became a professional horseman, teaching, providing livery and competing.

His most notable success was winning the Daily Express Foxhunter Championship at the Horse of the Year Show at Wembley Arena, London on 7 October 1975 on St Corry.

He was honoured by The Queen with an MBE in 2005 for services to showjumping in Scotland, and is also honorary vice-president of British Showjumping’s Scottish branch.