Kilmaurs Show

Lucy Shepherd (12)

Family background in farming?

I am Lucy Shepherd and I am 12 years old. I live at Grassmillside Farm, in Kilmaurs, Ayrshire and on our farm, we milk 150 cows, as well as having some dairy and beef cross calves and we grow some barley too! One of my favourite jobs is milking the cows and feeding calves.

How did you get into showing livestock?

I first showed a calf at Kilmaurs Show when I was three-years-old and have continued to do so every year since (pre-Covid). My mum and dad have always encouraged me to take part and support our local show.

What are your favourite breeds?

I like Ayrshire, Holstein and Jerseys cows. Holstein cows I like as they produce lots of milk, however Jerseys are just a bit different and I find them quite inquisitive. My sister and I have a pet Jersey calf each called Toffee and Fudge.

What was the first show you attended and what is your favourite show now?

The first show I went to was Kilmaurs when I was a week old I like going to Kilmaurs Show as I know lots of people there. Two of my favourite's would be Ayr and the Highland Show as again you meet lots of people plus I like watching the horse jumping.

What si your favourite thing about showing?

I enjoy working with the calves before showing, as well as training them to walk on a halter then washing and helping to clip them.

Biggest success?

My biggest success was in the industrial tent rather than the ring when I won the trophy for The Best Junior Exhibit at Kilmaurs Show.

Best advice you've ever received?

The best would be "Don’t give up!"

Do you have hobbies or interests outwith showing?

I really enjoy dancing – from highland dancing to hip-hop. I also like horses and baking.

Do you have plans for the future and do they include agriculture?

I would like to continue working on our family farm although I’m not a morning person so will stick to the afternoon milkings! I look forward to being allowed to drive the tractors and do field work myself.

Emily Smith (8)

What type of farm do you and your family live on?

I live on a dairy farm with my mum, dad and little sister Isla.

What’s your favourite job on the farm?

My favourite job on the farm is feeding the calves with my grandpa.

How did you get into showing livestock?

I have been going to shows with my mum and dad since I was born and I loved watching the animals. I wanted to start taking a calf to Kilmaurs Show, which is a local show where some of my friends take theirs too.

What are your favourite breeds?

My favourite breed is Holstein but I would actually LOVE a pony.

What was the first show you went to and what is your favourite show now?

My first show was Kilmaurs Show when I was three-months-old but I don’t remember it. My favourite show is definitely Kilmaurs Show because I see lots of people that I know. I can take a calf and take part in the other kids competitions like the crafts and races too.

What is your favourite thing about showing?

My favourite thing about showing is spending time with my dad whilst getting the calf all washed and clipped, and ready to go to the show.

What has been your biggest success?

My biggest success was at Kilmaurs Show in 2019. The calf class is always quite busy and I won The Southook Perpetual Cup for best Friesian calf and also The Newlands Trophy for champion calf.

Have you had any disappointments so far?

My biggest disappointment is that the shows have all been cancelled because of Covid - I'm looking forward to getting back to Kilmaurs Show next year!

Who would you say you look up to and what is the best piece of advice you have been given?

I look up to my dad, although he hasn’t done a lot of showing for a while. The best piece of advice I have been given is to not be unhappy if you don’t win – there#s always next year.

What are your hobbies or interests out with showing?

My favourite hobby is horse riding. I also go to a theatre club, dancing, brownies and swimming.

Do you have plans for the future and do they include agriculture?

Yes I do. When I am older I want to be a vet!

Do you have any tips or advice for other young people trying to get in to showing?

I’m just a beginner myself and still have lots to learn so no advice from me yet!