It’s the day after the night before ... and if you are not ready for the party to be over, join the crowds at Morris Equestrian Centre on January 2, for The Field of Dreams tartan touch rugby tournament.

Organised by Stuart Muirhead, of Muirhead Plant Hire, the tournament is a day of fun for all the family.

First off, there are 20 teams of the finest specimens of rugby players that Scotland has ever seen (that’s not a legally binding statement), that are going to go head to head for the tournament title!

Go along at 1pm and take part in the rowing competition, which is a 500m race open to anyone who wants to have a go.

The kids can take part in a digger competition and there are some surprise competitions running that I hear involve a Robin Reliant and a lot of balloons.

After the rugby tournament, the highlight of the day is the heavyweight race, which will be a spectacle to see, where a group of the more rotund gentlemen set off round a course of hurdles and bales and with a swig or two of the obligatory beer on the course, it’s a race to see who finishes fastest.

Stuart Muirhead told The SF that there is talk of a couple of Grand Slam heroes turning up to support the day too.

The motto of the day is ‘Just get there’, that’s all it takes to have a great day.

It is £5 for adults, kids go free and all fundraising is in support of Doddie Weir’s My Name’5 Doddie Foundation. Last year the day made a fantastic £8000 sum for charity.

Where: Morris Equestrian Centre, Fenwick, Ayrshire KA3 6AY, at 1pm.

The team sheet:

Team captains – Doddie’s British Lie Ins – Jim Currie; Kilmaurs young and old farmers – Neil Sands; Nether Robertland/Stewart Academy Select – Alan Smith; King Arthur Select – Ian Speirs; Biggar All Blackies – David Reive; Skelfs Xmas Elfs – Ally McCall; JPR McFadzean Wanderers – Jamie McFadzean; Stirling Bravehearts – Stuart Cameron; Dunlop Dynamos – Hugh and Jane Whiteford; The Girvan Young Team – Kenny and Sean Young; Crossroads YFC – Ally Neil; Muirhead Barbarians – Iwan Tukalo; The Scottish Farmer Select – David Armstrong; Eaglesham Tartan Army – Bob the Builder Perrie; Goldilocks and the Seven Bears – Jim and Niall Goldie; Hendrie Brothers Select – Wallace Hendrie; Scot Squad – Cameron Wilson; The Kings Arms Encyclopedia Club – Ian Calderwood; The Dalespark Reunion – Billy Cuthbertson; Kilmarnock RFC – Ally McWhirter.