Covid-19 restrictions resulted in the Scottish Grassland Society's silage competition 2020 being selected on analysis only, with the judge Robert Mitchll, Drumdreel, Strathmiglo, finding his overall in the winner from the South of Scotland Club.

Well-known dairy farmers and silage producers, Brian and Michael Yates, East Logan, Castle Douglas, won the top award with their sample of pit silage.

It produced a winning analysis made up of a D Value of 75.8 with dry matter levels of 39.1; ME of 12.1 MJ per kg of dry matter; crude protein of 15.8 and a pH of 4.4.

Reserve and honourable mention both came in the form of bale silage samples. Lifting the blue and white sash was the East of Scotland winner, Ian Duncan Millar, with a sample of third cut silage from Tirnie, Aberfeldy, while honourable mention went to the winner of the North of Scotland, Murray Cooper, Backhill of Thornton, Boutrie, Inverurie.

The reserve from Tirnie yielded a 72.8 D Value with a dry matter of 42.8; ME of 11.6; CP of 17.2 and pH of 4.8, while the bale silage from Backhill of Thornton produced a 70D Value with dry matter levels of 38.7 and ME and CP of 11.2 and 18.4, respectively. The pH was 5.1.

LEADING awards

North of Scotland – Pit Section – 1, Martin Family, Garguston, Muir of Ord, Black Isle; 2, C Lovie, Dunecht Home Farm, Dunecht, Westhill; 3 and best new entrant, G and D Anderson, Brucewell, Netherley, Stonehaven; 4, Willis Family, Glasgoforest, Kinellar.

Bale section – 1 and overall winner, M, Cooper, Backhill of Thornton, Bourtie, Inverurie; 2 and best new entrant, J Macdonald, Achurasdal, Reay, Caithness; 3, G and D Anderson, Brucewell, Netherley, Stonehaven; 4, W Stewart, Bomakelloch, Drummuir, Keith.

East of Scotland – Big bale – 1, and overall winner, I Duncan Millar, Tirinie, Aberfeldy; 2, R Balfour, Balbirnie, Cupar; 3, J Lang, Ferniemill, Cupar.

Beef/sheep pit – 1, D Black, Drochil Castle, West Linton; 2, I Duncan Millar, Tirinie; 3, J Marshall, SAC, Easter Howgate, Penicuik.

Dairy pit – 1, N Greer Wharlawhill, Carnbo, Kinross; 2, A and J Barr, Easter Bucklyvie, Cowdenbeath; 3, B Weatherup, Parkend, Crossgates.

South of Scotland – Ayrshire County – 1, R Murdoch, High Park Farm, Colyton, Ayr. Dumfriesshire County – Cowhill Trust (Scott McGill), Kerricks Farm, Kirkmahoe. Stewartry County – 1, B and M Yates, East Logan Castle Douglas. Wigtownshire County – 1, M McCreath, Garlieston Home Farm, Garlieston,Wigtown.

YFC – 1, Sjoerd van der Spruit, Challoch Farm, Leswalt, Stranraer; David Watson, High Mark, Leswalt, Stranraer; 3, Duncan Forrest, Meinfoot, Ecclefechan, Lockerbie.

YFC beef – 1, David Maxwell, Halket Leaths, Castle Douglas; 2, Reuben Inman, Kilnknowe, Kirtlebridge, Lockerbie; 3, Hannah and Mary McIntosh, Auchneel, Stranraer.

Open dairy – 1, Brian and Michael Yates, East Logan, Castle Douglas; 2, Cowhill Trust (Scott McGill), Kerricks Farm, Kirkmahoe, Dumfries; 3, M Stewart, Smallholm Burn, Lockerbie.

Open beef – 1, J McIntosh, Gennoch Mains, Dunragit, Stranraer; 2, A Nelson, Cogarth, Parton, Castle Douglas; 3, Bruce Goldie, Townfoot of Mouswald, Dumfries.

Maize – 1, D Sloan, Kirkton Fields, Kirkton, Dumfries; 2, I Carlisle, Nether Dargarvel, Dumfries; 3,

R Reid, Bengall, Lockerbie.

Wholecrop – 1, WP Kerr, Low Dallars, Hurlford, Kilmarnock; 2, H and K Farms ( Angus Brown), Charlesfield, Annan; 3, S Craig, Back of Wall, Glenluce, Newton Stewart.

Contractors – 1, A Cowan, East Lanegate, Lochmaben, Lockerbie; 2, D Watson, Byeloch, Mousewald, Dumfries; 3, D Yates, Meikle Firthhead, Dalbeattie.

Big bale – 1, D Kennedy and Sons, Chapelcroft, Lockerbie; 2, I Beck, South Port of Spittal, Portpatrick; 3, M and H Currie, Skewbridge,Mouswald, Dumfries.

Attention to detail – R Murdoch, High Park Farm, Colyton, Ayr

Best new entrant – D Forrest, Meinfoot, Ecclefechan, Lockerbie