MODERN technology was once again embraced by Scotland's Young Farmers to host their west region AGM on the 'zoom' online platform, to formally appoint the new committee for the year ahead.

After a very successful year, Hazel Watt of East Kilbride Young Farmers handed over the reins to Katie Burns, Kilmaur’s YFC, with Gayle Allan of Avondale taking on the position of the vice chairman.

Katie Burns addressed the new committee saying: “Although this isn’t quite the start we hoped for the new YF year, I’m looking forward to taking on this challenge. I’ve been very impressed with how clubs have adapted thinking up new and unique ways to engage their members and can’t wait to see what creative and unique ideas are to follow.”

Gayle Allan added: “I am thoroughly looking forward to my year as the West Region vice chair. I am especially looking forward to working alongside Katie. It is a privilege to take on this role and although things aren’t exactly ‘business’ as normal in these current times, I am sure we will seize every opportunity that comes our way and make the most of our time in achieving our aims for the year ahead.”

John McCulloch has been reinstated as West Agri Affairs rep, whilst the fuller committee runs as – Hazel Watt, Robyn Watt, Donald Erskine, David Campbell, Jane Strawhorn, Lee Robb, Andrew Taylor, Amy Haddow, Kayleigh Mitchell, Lizanne Young, David Mitchell, Alan Bankier, Mhairi Strang, Ross Johnston, Amanda Stewart, Jan Duncan, Stephen Taylor, Emma Harper, John Austin, Katie Sproat, Louise Paterson and Lewis Carruthers.