Gemma Bruce of Udny Jac has taken up the position of national chair of SAYFC for the year ahead, with Katie Burns of Kilmaurs YFC as vice-chair.

Outgoing chair Kim Livesey, commented: "As my year as chair comes to an end, it has definitely ended on a very different note than when it started. Whilst the coronavirus pandemic has made us change our way of meetings, it has been amazing to see clubs and districts carry on with online meetings, online stockjudgings and the likes. I would like to wish Gemma and Katie all the very best for next year – It’ll be a year with different challenges that’s for sure, however I’m confident that they will do a fantastic job," said Kim.

Excited and ready to rise to the challenges of her new role in the current environment, Gemma added: "I would like to congratulate Kim on a fantastic year and say how honoured I am to be elected as National Chair. I am looking forward to the year ahead and to the challenges of navigating the association through these changing times. We have a lot of new ideas to keep members involved and I can’t wait to see these come together. Along with the development of the "Are ewe ok?" campaign and brand new SAYFCconnect platform.

Members of National council; President – Andy Peddie. Vice president – Bill Arnot. Treasurer – Ian Cuthbertson. Outgoing chair – Kim Livesey.

Observer; Member of the Year – Jennifer Veitch. RHASS – Kay Adam. SWI – Margaret Adamson.

Agri and rural affairs; Chair - Catherine Sloan. Vice chair - Ally Brunton. West – John McCulloch, East - Daniel Fleming. North - Amy Jo Reid.

International committee; Chair – Lianne Brunton. Vice char - Lucy McClymont

National committee – Gayle Allan, Ross Johnston, Jane Strawhorn, Mhairi Strang, Hazel Watt, Lynsey Campbell, David Black, Lucy Mitchell, Annabel Baker, Jennifer Jones, Barbara Shaw, Hamish Logan, Anna Sloan, Gemma Bruce, Murray Stephen, Sally Mair, Sarah Mowat, Peter Duthie and Joanna Foubister