ENTRIES are open for the 2021 Farm Shop and Deli Awards.

This year they’re doing things a little differently by looking to shine the spotlight on those retailers who deserve recognition in their region for their community support.

Having heard so many stories on how retailers have gone above and beyond to help their customers, staff, suppliers and communities during the Covid-19 pandemic, the 2021 the 2021 awards are placing more emphasis on how specialist retailers have adapted their business and supported their community, staff and suppliers this year, rather than focusing on financial success.

The retailers will be judged by their region, and not category and the awards are encouraging consumers and suppliers to nominate retailers worthy of winning via an online nomination form by October 31.

Nominated retailers will then be contacted in November and are invited to enter via a quick and easy online entry form. However, retailers do not need to wait to be nominated and can enter themselves by the same online entry form.

Both the online Nomination Form and Entry Form can be found on the Awards website: farmshopanddelishow.co.uk/awards

All shortlisted retailers will be announced in January and invited to attend the winners’ announcement live from from the Farm Shop and Deli Show on Monday, April 12, 2021 at the NEC, Birmingham.

The awards' judges, headed by returning Chair of Judges Nigel Barden, food and drink broadcaster, are looking forward to supporting this year’s competition, and will score all online entries in January and February.

The awards' organiser, William Reed, said: “I really do think everyone who took part should look back – with huge, huge satisfaction – over the last ten/twenty years at how we have all transformed food retail in this country. There have always been wonderful stories to tell, but now just about everyone is hearing about them – loud and clear, thanks to those such as the knowledgeable and dedicated judges on the team at the Farm Shop and Deli Awards”.

The awards are free to enter. However, to be able to recognise the challenges retailers have overcome, and the achievements this year has brought them, the judges need to hear about this either from customer and supplier nominations, or directly from the retailers themselves. So, if you are interested in nominating a worthy retailer, or entering yourselves, please visit farmshopanddelishow.co.uk/awards to find out more.

The nine regions for the awards are; East Anglia, Midlands, North East, North West, Northern Ireland, Scotland, South East,South West and Wales.

The awards are open to retailers from the following categories:

• Baker;

• Butcher;

• Cheesemonger;

• Delicatessen;

• Farm shop – large retailer;

• Farm shop – small retailer;

• Fishmonger;

• Food Hall;

• Greengrocer;

• Online business;

• Village store/ local shop.