SAYFC MEMBERS Stephen Taylor of SSS and Laura McCulloch of Stranraer were crowned West Mr and Miss Young Farmer 2020 when the competition went online for the first time due to the pandemic.

Runners-up in the Mr Young Farmer competition went to Mauchline’s Cameron McGregor and third place to Carluke’s Andrew Jackson. Placing second in the Miss Young Farmer competition was Kathryn Dick of SSS and third prize was awrded to Cara Gilbert of Kilmaurs.

The judges on the evening were Agnes Paton, Katherine Marr and Colin Ferguson, who were all impressed with the standard of the competition and delighted to see how passionate they all were about the association.

In early December, the West Quiz also took to zoom, attracting a staggering turnout of 38 teams, but it was Beith Young Farmers who ruled the night, notching up wins in both the junior and senior sections.

Coming out on top in the junior section was Beith with members Laura Blyth, Jean Andrew and Morven Ritchie. In second place was Avondale which consisted of Russell Hall, Laura Hamilton and Jane Fleming. Third place also went to Beith with Diane King, Tabitha Graham and Georgie Renfrew making up the team. Morven Ritchie from the winning team also won top junior on the night.

In the senior section, Beith shined once more with its members Kirsty Smith, Lauren Ellis, Euan jack and David Campbell. Runners-up was awarded to Annandale and members Lewis Carruthers, Charlotte Carruthers, Steven Paterson and Alistair Kerr. Third prize went to Loch Lomond with Ben Brown, Lucy Bennie, Jessica Stephenson and Anna McKenzie. The top senior on the night was Sam Prentice representing another team from Loch Lomond.

The Question Masters for the evening were David Lawrie, Andrew Ireland, Katie Burns and Gayle Allan.