A Texel ewe lamb from Allan Campbell’s Strawfrank flock, based at Lanark, led the newly-established MV-accredited pedigree lamb section held on the Friday evening of this year’s LiveScot event.

Brought out by stockman Kenny O’Connor, she is a daughter of Allanfauld Dances With Wolves and out of one of the flock’s best breeding ewes, which produced 40 eggs in her 2020 flush and this year produced 38 eggs. This girl, along with a scanned recipient ewe carrying a pair of embryos, will be forward for sale at the upcoming Lanark Crackers Texel in-lamb sale on Friday, December 10, at Lanark Auction Mart.

Stephanie Dick came up trumps when securing the reserve MV championship with her Blue Texel ewe lamb, Stephick Fairytale. A daughter of Beili Blues Euphoric, she is out of Derg Dior, which was purchased privately from Allen Shortt.

Read more: Brailes Samson crowned inter-breed champion at LiveScot pedigree calf show

In the non-MV section, George Whyte, Lintibert, took home the top award with a Beltex ewe lamb. On her first outing, this girl is out of a Cuiltburn tup and bred out of a Brickrow ewe.

Reserve champion came in the form of a Bluefaced Leicester tup lamb from David Bryson’s Mauchline-based flock. Another on his first outing, this boy is by a tup purchased at Hawes from Sandy Ainslie’s Linkshead flock and out of a home-bred ewe. He should be heading to the summer shows, next year.

LEADING awards:

MV-accredited – Texel ewe – 1 and champion, A Campbell, Strawfrank; 2, G Gray; 3, D Clark, Lee Meadow. Texel tup lamb – 1, G Gray, Sunnycroft; 2, K Johnstone, Boghouse; 3, A Clark and Son, Meikle Glengyre. Beltex ewe lamb – 1, Andrew Baillie, Carstairs Mains; 2, A Dunlop, Corstane; 3, Andrew Baillie, Carstairs Mains. Beltex tup lamb – 1, Kenny O’Connor; 2, Andrew Baillie; 3, A Dunlop. AOB ewe lamb – 1 and reserve, Stephanie Dick (Blue Texel); 2, G Gray (Blue Texel); 3, Kenny O’Connor (Blue Texel). AOB tup lamb – 1, G Gray (Blue Texel); 2, A Clark and Son; 3, G Gray (Blue Texel).

Non-MV accredited – Blackface ewe lamb – 1, J and A Boswell, Burnhead; 2, J and A Boswell; 3, DC and JJ Marshall, Blendewing. Blackface tup lamb – 1, DC and JJ Marshall. Bluefaced Leicester ewe lamb – 1, David Bryson; 2, Bruce Guild, Ashmark; 3, David Bryson. Bluefaced Leicester tup lamb – 1 and reserve, David Bryson. Mule ewe lamb – 1, Firm of Shawhead. AOB ewe lamb – 1 and champion, George Whyte, Lintibert; 2, John Guthrie, Cuiltburn; 3, John Guthrie.