KIM TAYLOR of Turriff JAC has been elected as the new national chairman of SAYFC at the national council elections during held over the Easter weekend.

Taking over the reigns from outgoing chairman David Lawrie from Kinross JAC, Kim’s former post as vice-chair has been filled by Gemma Bruce from Udny JAC.

The Election of National Council took place on Saturday April 20, at the Young Farmers Centre, Ingliston. Lianne Brunton of East Fife YFC remains as international chairman and the following members of National Council were appointed – Hazel Watt, Katie Burns, Ross Johnston, Mhairi Strang, Lizzie McJannet, Ewan Smith, David Black, Lucy Mitchell, Daniel Fleming, Claire Henderson, Gemma Duguid, Amy Duguid, Amy Jo Reid, Peter Duthie, Andrew McGregor, Catherine Sloan, Ally Brunton, Joanna Foubister, John McCulloch, Michael Gunn, Murray Stephens, Anna Sloan, Robert Campbell, Lucy Mclymont and Nicky Wilson.

Two weeks prior, the west region of young farmers held their annual general meeting at Lanark Market and Hazel Watt from East Kilbride YFC was elected as the new chair. She took over the role from outgoing chair Lizzie McJannet of Ayr and District YFC, with Katie Burns of Kilmaurs YFC being appointed the new regional vice-chair.

At the general meeting, the following members were appointed onto the west regional committee: Lee Robb, Katie Burns, Claire Templeton, Donald Erskine, Ian Ritchie, Callum McCrae, Sara McKenzie, Amy Methven, Lucy McClymont, John White, Gillan Watret, Callum Park, Alan Bankier, Mhairi Strang, Amy Haddon, Kayleigh Mitchell, Ross Johnstone, Laura Scott, Emma Harper, Gayle Allan and Stuart Rankin.