YOUNG FARMERS were certainly kept busy at the Highland Show, with main attractions again being the tug-of-war, stockjudging, handicrafts, ‘Young Farmer of the Year’, handicrafts and sheep shearing – making the SAYFC HQ the centre of attention for many.

Robert Campbell, from Crossroads YFC, won the prestigious ‘Young Farmer of the Year’ award in its second year – topping the leader board during the final day of competition on the Friday.

Haven taken third place last year, he was delighted to come away with the trophy and commented on the final day of challenges.

“It was a day of diverse challenges, with interviews regarding our business plans and a quiz in the morning followed by the mystery challenge which turned out to be cooking lamb burgers on the QMS stand and finally more practical challenges in the afternoon,” he said.

“I thought I had done OK but definitely not well enough to be winning the competition so when the results were announced I was absolutely delighted yet shocked. Over the next year I’m hoping to be able make use of the skills prizes and contacts that this competition has provided me with. It has been the best and most varied YF competition that I have ever been part of and I would encourage all members to seriously consider taking part,” he said.

The competition culminated with a dinner and prizegiving at the home of the sponsors, the Royal Bank of Scotland on the Friday evening, where Robert received his trophy – which was donated by Sir John Campbell, of Glenrath Farms. Six finalists made it through to the final day of competition which saw David Bennie, of Callander YFC lift the runner up with third place going to Tom Bruce, of Udny JAC.

The Quality Meat Scotland stand held the final of the ‘Ready, steady, country cook’ competition where Eilidh Davidson and Grace Brown, from Strichen, cooked their way to success. Runners up were Sandwick’s Jessica Rendall and Rachel Isbister, who put up a strong battle to make it a close competition.

The Ritchie Trophy, awarded in recognition of a person who has contributed a significant amount to the SAYFC movement, was this year presented to Jimmy Warnock for his hard work and dedication. He managed to organise an eightsome-reel in the main ring on the Friday night at the show as the first of the big ring entertainment.

This fun event got many involved from across different districts – including a team from The SF –and it was something great for others to watch from the ring side. Unfortunately, the effort was not able to beat the world-record, but it was still a good effort with an enjoyable night had by all.

Across the showfield there was an abundance of talent to be seen within the SAYFC centre and some impressive timepiece displays. Craig Cochrane, from Crossroads, won the junior section and Alistair Morrison, Lanark, topped the seniors in this competition.

Another strong entry in the photography class, saw the top two tickets go to Rachael Baillie, Biggar, and Emma Cheape, Kinross, in the junior and senior sections, respectively.

Strathearn club topped the junior arts and crafts handicrafts this year, which was themed ‘Treasures of the deep’, with just two members, Rhona Campbell, who completed three of the items and Heather Halley, who tackled the further article. In second place, was Peebles-shire, with Bell Baxter taking third.

The senior handicrafts theme was ‘ABXY, 50 years of stockjudging’ which saw Olivia Young, Abigail Young, Karen Shepherd, Emma Scott and Ciara Fowley, from Kilmaurs, take first prize. Crossroads, from Ayrshire, picked up second while Carluke came third for Lanarkshire.

Winner of the Lister Silver Handpiece SAYFC shearing competition was Cameron Wilson, Kilmaurs, who beat William Ballantyne, Teviotdale, and Ben Wight, Biggar, who were respectively second and third.

LEADING awards

Junior arts and crafts (Treasures of the deep) – 1, Strathearn, Rhona Campbell and Heather Halley; 2, Peebles-shire, Eilidh McSporran, Kirsty Smellie, Rachel Campbell and Mairi Wallace. 3, Bell Baxter, Sam Roberts, Alisa Roberts and Logan Fenton.

Special prizes – Treasure map – Kathryn Fairful, Kilmaurs. Sewn article – Mairi McLean, Crossroads. Item of jewellery – Lily Glendinning. Further article – Heather Halley, Strathearn. Appearance and display – Gail Pollock and Laura Hamilton, Avondale.

Senior arts and crafts (ABXY, 50 years of stockjudging) – 1, Kilmaurs, Olivia Young, Abigail Young, Karen Shepherd, Emma Scott, Ciara Fowley; 2, Crossroads, Eilidh Strawhorn, Georgina Baird, Alison Murdoch, Katy Strawhorn, Jane Strawhorn and Lorne Kerr; 3, Carluke, Mhairi Hall, Lizanne Young, Linzi Hamilton, Joanna Jackson and Annabell Bryce.

Special prizes – Halter – Danielle Campbell, Bower. Cake (décor only) – Jennifer Jeffery, Peebles-shire. Sewn article – Karen Shepherd, Kilmaurs. Certificate – Joanne Hall, Carluke. Flower arrangement – James Gemmell, Mauchline. Further article – April Lannigan, Crossroads. Appearance and display – Cara Gilbert and Olivia Young, Kilmaurs.

Ready, steady cook, country cook – 1, Strichen, Eilidh Davidson and Grace Brown; 2, Sandwick, Jessica Rendall and Rachel Isbister.

Craftmanship (Timepiece) – Junior – 1, Craig Cochrane, Crossroads. Senior – 1, Alistair Morrison, Lanark; 2, Andrew Beattie, Forfar; 3, Ryan Douglas, Carluke.

Photography (Colours of the rainbow) – Junior – 1, Rachael Baillie, Biggar; 2, Rachael Baillie, Biggar; 3, Orla Duncan, SSS. Senior – 1, Emma Cheape, Kinross; 2, Emma Cheape, Kinross. 3, Emma Johnstone, West Renfrewshire.

Ritchie Trophy – Jimmy Warnock.

Member recruitment – Club – 1, North Argyll; 2, Inver Ross; 3, Inverurie. District – 1, Caithness; 2, Argyll; 3, RNI.

District participation – 1, Orkney; 2, Caithness; 3, Clyde and Central.

Club of the Year – 1, Mearns; 2, Brechin; 3, East Kilbride.

Young Farmer of the Year – Robert Campbell, Crossroads.

Sheep shearing – Scotch Mules – 1, David Scott, Strathbogie; 2, Tom Dunn, Biggar. 3, James White, Machars. Blackface – 1, Cameron Wilson, Kilmaurs; 2, Ben Wight, Biggar; 3, William Ballantyne, Teviotdale. Final – 1, Cameron Wilson, Kilmaurs; 2, William Ballantyne, Teviotdale; 3, Ben Wight, Biggar.