Northern Ireland breeders dominated the National Suffolk Flock competition winning the top two awards along with several other lead accolades.

Overall winner and the recipient of the prestigious Bristol Gold Cup was Dennis Taylor's Ballynacannon flock from Macosquin, Coleraine which first won the award for the best flock of 61-100 ewes.

Mr Taylor who also sold the top priced entry at the Borderway Beauties sale at Carlisle, last week at 6000gns, also took the silverware for the best ewe lambs and the lead progeny group with offspring by his own Ballynacannon Discovery.

Adding to the Irish success, Patrick Donnelly's Donrho flock from Rathkenny, Ballymena, scooped the reserve overall honours having initially triumphed in the 31-60 ewe section.

In addition, Donrho scooped the reserve amongst the ewe lambs and the progeny group with lambs by Birness Don.

LEADING awards

Overall winner – D Taylor, (Ballynacannon flock). Reserve overall – P Donnelly (Donrho flock)

Flock (5-15 ewes) – Winner – D Ford, N Ireland (Mullaghboy); reserve – John Henderson, Aberdeenshire (Bullers); certificates of merit – R McLoughlin (Donegal), J Davies (Cheshire) and M Butler (N Ireland).

Flock (16-30 ewes) – Winner – S and P O'Connor, Co Kerry (Islandmore); reserve – S Duncan, Aberdenshire (Pennan); certificates of merit – D Lindon (Surrey).

Floc (31-60 ewes) – Winner – P Donnelly, N Ireland (Donrho); reserve – S Cobbald, Suffolk (Lavenham); certificates of merit – C Watchorn (Wicklow), W Montgomery (N Ireland), G Graham (Sligo), and C Dowson (N Yorkshire).

Flock (61-100ewes) – Winner – D Taylor, N Ireland, (Ballynacannon); reserve – D Inman, Leicestershire (Lindum); certificates of merit – G Killilea (Galway)

Flock(101+ewes) – Winner – Hallam and Eggleston, Leicestershire (Seagrave); reserve – EA and L Jackson, Northumberland (Rugley).

Best stud ram – Winner – Limestone Aston Martin owned by R McLoughlin (Ballyboe); reserve – Beechcrest RingLeader owned by W Montgomery (Smiddiehill); certificates of merit – Lakeview Lonesome Days and Ballynacannon Billionaire.

Best ewe lambs – Winner – D Taylor (Ballynacannon); reserve – P Donnelly, N Ireland (Donrho); certificates of merit – J Henderson (Aberdeenshire); S Cobbald (Suffolk); D Ford (N Ireland); D Inman (Leicestershire); G Killilea (Galway) and C Watchorn (Wicklow).

Best flock of ewes – Winner – D Taylor (Ballynacannon); reserve – P Donnelly (Donrho); certificates of merit – S Cobbald (Suffolk); C Watchorn (Wicklow); Hallam and Eggleston (Leicestershire) and D Inman (Leicestershire).

Progeny group – Winner – D Taylor (Ballynacannon Discovery); reserve (Birness Don).