SCOTLAND’S ONLY ploughing match to go ahead this year was a huge success for Atholl and Breadalbane Ploughing Society – who lucked out with a glorious sunny day and a talented line-up of participants.

The society went above and beyond to put on the socially distanced match at Guay Farm, Ballinluig, by kind permission of Mr R Laird, which saw Billy Henderson from Strathtay crowned the overall winner and receive the RHASS medal.

Judging ploughing on the day were Mr J Lawson from Blairgowrie, Mr J Aitchison from Errol and Mr W McIntosh from Blairgowrie. Mr H Forfar from Agricar, Perth judged the tractors.

Secretary of Atholl and Breadalbane Ploughing Society, Jane Kennedy told The SF that they were delighted to hold the match given the current pandemic: “The committee decided that provided we could comply with all the guidelines and take all the precautions necessary then there was no reason why we couldn’t go ahead, especially as we are a small society,” she explained. “We had a perfect day weather wise and although spectators had to be limited, the comments we received from those who did attend including our socially distanced judges and competitors were very positive.

“Many congratulated the committee for going the extra mile to make it work and as far as we know we are the only match so far in Scotland to have managed to hold a competition, so it’s something really positive for our future committees to look back on,” she continued.

“Hopefully next year we can return to running our match in the traditional manner, but this year we’re just pleased we managed to go ahead.”

Full Results


Throw out – Rory Scott


1st Billy Henderson

2nd Tommy Campbell

3rd Rory Scott


1st Billy Henderson

2nd Willie Grieve

3rd Chic McWilliam

4th Rory Scott

5th Bobby McLeod

6th Ally Robb

7th Tommy Campbell

8th Mark Gilmour

9th Ally Marshall

10th Ray Marshall

11th Henry Harrison

12th Ally Brown

Finish: -

1st Rory Scott

2nd Chic McWilliam

3rd Willie Grieve

Straightest Rig: - Willie Grieve

Ins & Outs: - Tommy Campbell

Best work by a non-medal winner in the conventional class: - Ally Robb


Throw out: - Jonathan Marshall

Feering: -

1st Jonathan Marshall

2nd Struan Wilson

Ploughing: -

1st Jonathan Marshall

2nd Struan Wilson

Finish: -

1st Jonathan Marshall

2nd Struan Wilson

Straightest Rig: - Jonathan Marshall

Ins & Outs: - Struan Wilson

Best work done by a non-medal winner in the Reversible class: - Struan Wilson

Best JAC Member: Struan Wilson

Best work by a Ford Tractor: - Billy Henderson

Best overall Finish: - Rory Scott

Best kept Tractors

Oldest section: -

1st Billy Henderson

2nd Ally Brown

3rd Mark Gilmour

Newest section: -

1st Willie Grieve

2nd Chic McWilliam

3rd Struan Wilson

Oldest Tractor: - Ally Robb

Oldest Ploughman: - Tommy Campbell

Youngest Ploughman: - Struan Wilson

Furthest Travelled: - Willie Grieve

Unluckiest competitor: - Tommy Campbell

Best ploughed Rig by a trailing plough: - Ally Robb

RHASS Medal: - Billy Henderson