LUCY MITCHELL has taken on the East region chair of the Scottish Association of Young Farmers Clubs, after David Black from Kinross JAC stepped down at the recent AGM.

Lucy, from Newbigging Farm near Burntisland, works as an event manager for the James Hutton Institute and with a heightened SAYFC knowledge having been a past regional manager, is without doubt a valuable asset for the year ahead!

“I am delighted and excited to be chairing the East regional young farmers this year," she said. "Over the past year clubs have done an excellent job of adapting to these unprecedented times through arranging online events and supporting their local communities. It is fantastic to see that morale is high for the year ahead and that many have already planned their summer syllabuses.

"I am looking forward to restrictions easing so that we can start to arrange a physical calendar of events and competitions and really make the most of what our young farmers association has to offer," she added.

Elected as Lucy’s vice chair for the year is Jennifer Jones of Peeblesshire JAC, a full time vet at the mixed practice ARMAC Vet Group covering South Lanarkshire and Peeblesshire.

“I have really enjoyed being part of SAYFC at club and district level, and am delighted to be supporting Lucy at East Region especially getting some physical events back running this year, we have some big plans," said Jennifer.

"It is also good to be representing clubs south of the bridge, with Border Fed planning a Farm Safety campaign this summer. This is a cause important to everyone on farm, and would be great to see all clubs in the regions making use of the Farm Safety Training being offered by SAFYC and Yellow Wellies," she added.

The East Regional Committee

Chair: Lucy Mitchell.

Vice Chair: Jennifer Jones.

Retiring Chair: David Black.

Border Federation reps – Will Wardrop, Stewart Shaw, Andrew Dixon.

Lothian and Peebles reps – Alasdair Allan, Hamish Logan, Kirsty Barr, William Brown.

Perthshire reps – Mhairi Dalgliesh, Jillian Kennedy, Crawford McLaren, Leanne Corbitt, Ewan Lambie, Anna Sloan

Angus Tayside reps – Andrew Beattie, Barbara Shaw, Laura Brown

Fife and Kinross reps – Grant Barr, Annabel Baker, Calum Greer