AgriScot has opened nominations for the 2022 round of the Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award.

The award, first made in 2017, has traditionally looked for entries later in the summer, with on farm assessor visits taking place in October – however this year organisers have decided to open up the award earlier, so that farms that have made the final short list can be visited pre-harvest.

AgriScot director and arable award convenor, John Weir, commented: “We are absolutely delighted that we are once again able to run the Scottish Arable Farm of the Year Award. It is great to be working alongside AHDB as facilitators and SoilEssentials, our sponsor, to launch this year’s award.

“We are calling for nominations and entries over the next eight weeks, and our assessors aim to then produce a shortlist of three farms to visit in July. This timing is new for 2022, but we believe it gives farmers a better opportunity to show crops and farms looking at their best at a potentially less busy time of year," said Mr Weir.

“The 2021 Arable Farm of the Year award was awarded to Preston Hall farm in Midlothian with the other two shortlisted farms both hailing from Aberdeenshire. This year we are keen to encourage farms from all over mainland Scotland and the Islands to put themselves forward, or to hear from agronomists, machinery suppliers, and others – anonymously if necessary – who wish to nominate their customers, clients, and neighbours as deserving of the 2022 title,” he added.

Read more: AgriScot 2022: Scottish Arable Farm of the Year finalists

Mr Weir will be joined by Bill Gray from Preston Hall to assess this year’s entries. Gregor Welsh, general manager at SoilEssentials, and sponsor of the award is pleased to be involved: “We are continually fascinated by the award finalists, having the insight into their individual farming businesses and inspiring stories each year, so we would actively encourage submissions from the length and breadth of Scotland.”

The roll call of the previous arable farm of the year award recipients represents a fair spread across the arable areas of Scotland:

2017 – South Redbog, Strichen, Aberdeenshire;

2018 – Rhynie House, Tain, Ross-shire;

2019 – Lacesston, Gateside, Fife;

2021 – Preston Hall, Midlothian.

If you wish to nominate a farm, email

Application forms can be requested via the same e-mail address or downloaded from

The deadline for submissions is June 20 at 12 noon.

The awards will be presented as part of AgriScot on November 16 at the Royal Highland Centre, Ingliston.