This year's finalists for SAYFC ‘Five Star Awards’ have been released for this year's event to be staged in November.

Celebrating the involvement of young farmers within their clubs and communities, the awards evening gives thanks to those going above and beyond for their members. From all necks of the country, the awards showcase the spirit, passion, and adaptability of the young farmer’s community, no matter the size or scale of their club or district!

The association received many amazing and heartfelt nominations from across Scotland for this year’s awards.

The Five Star Awards dinner will be held on November 11 in the RHASS Pavilion at the Royal Highland Centre. For those wanting to come along on the night and support the finalists, tickets are available online at

The Scottish Farmer: Five star awards finalists Five star awards finalists

The finalists for the Five Star Awards 2023:

Outstanding contribution (Supported by RHASS)

Awarded to an individual who has been a loyal supporter of Young Farmers for some time from club level all the way up to National. This could have been via supporting events, volunteering to be a trainer/judge, or more.

FINALISTS: Avril Henderson, Bill Meston, Jane Kennedy

Community engagement (Supported by Galbraith)

Presented to a club with active involvement and engagement within their community.

FINALISTS: Bower YFC, Callander YFC, Stranraer and Rhins YFC

Driving force (Supported by Johnston and Carmichael)

Awarded to an individual who encourages and supports their club to be the best it possibly can be. Providing a positive influence for young members and being a true club ambassador.

FINALISTS: Jordan Barclay, Anne Craig, John Forbes

Development award for education and training (Supported by SRUC)

Awarded to an initiative, club meeting, or event held by a club/district which benefited members’ personal development.

FINALISTS: Aberfeldy JAC, Carluke YFC, East Aberdeenshire District

Rural Ambassador Award (Supported by QMS)

Awarded to someone who promotes rural life – can be YF-related or simply someone doing a good job at promoting rural life whether at events, via social media or something else!

FINALISTS: Fraser Graham, John McCulloch and Wallace Currie, Yvonne Kennedy

Safety and Wellbeing Award (Supported by SGN)

Awarded to an individual or a group of individuals who are helping to drive real change in the promotion of farm safety and prioritisation of mental and physical wellbeing.

FINALISTS: Emma Gray, Grant Neilson and Jacalyn Dunlop, Ross Jackson

Young Farmer of the Year 2023 (Supported by Royal Bank of Scotland, Galbraith and ATV Services)

During the regional rallies held in July 2023, members completed various tasks to qualify for the final of the 2023 Young Farmer of the Year competition. On Saturday, November 11, they will battle it out before the lucky winner is announced in the evening.

FINALISTS: Ally Brunton (East Fife JAC), Andrew Frank (Udny YFC), Ewan Lambie (Strathearn JAC), Scott Limond (Ayr YFC), Ryan Luckhurst (InverRoss YFC), David Smith (Crossroads YFC)