In December the SAYFC held their National Junior Speechmaking final at RBS Gogarburn.

Thanks were given to Murray Stephen, Lizzy Baxter, and Catherine Johnston for judging the competition, with all three judges commenting on the high standards presented by all eight teams. Question masters on the day included Nick Hutchon and Andrew Taylor.

Leading Awards

1, Harray (pink) YFC; 2, West Renfrewshire YFC; 3, Mauchline YFC.

Out with winning team special prizes:

Best chair – Max Wyllie, Mauchline YFC

Best speaker – Ewan Simpson, West Renfrewshire YFC

Best vote of thanks – Ellis Caldwell, Mauchline YFC

Overall best individual – Ewan Simpson West Renfrewshire YFC

Additionally, the National Junior Quiz final was also held on the same day.

The quiz was compiled by Carol Brunton with national vice chair, Ally Brunton acting as question master.

Final quiz results: 1, Lesmahagow YFC; 2, Ayrshire District; 3, East Mainland YFC