12-year-old Jack Morton

What type of farm do you and your family live on?

We live at Auchinbay Farm, Ochiltree, Cumnock. It's me, my Dad, my Mum and my younger brother Jamie. We have a mixed dairy farm which has 330 milking cows on it, and we also rear 140 store bullocks.

How did you first get started showing livestock?

I really started showing livestock as soon as I could walk! In the beginning, when I was much smaller, my dad helped me in the calf class at Ochiltree show.

As well as Ochiltree, I have also shown at Catrine show a few times, and once at Ayr show.

What are your favourite breeds?

We work with dairy cattle at home, so Holstein and Ayrshire cattle are my favourites, and it's calves that I enjoy showing.

What was the first show you went to? What is your favourite show?

The very first show I went to was Ochiltree. I love all shows but especially enjoy Ochiltree as it's our local show, so I've been a lot of times, and I know a lot of people. It all makes it a fun day out.

I also really enjoy going Catrine and Ayr as all my friends go and it's great meeting up with them. They're all quite close to home for us.

We're really lucky as well, that we go as a family to the Royal Highland Show for a few days every year, and it's part of our family holiday. I love the Highland – it's a much bigger show than anywhere else, and there's just so much to do and see.

What is your favourite thing about showing?

I enjoy the whole process, right from the start and choosing the calf to show. You then move on to getting prepared for the show, which takes effort but is a lot of fun. It's all topped off though, when my calf leads well on the day. It makes all the work worthwhile!

Have you had any big show successes, so far?

I came third in my class at Ayr show, which I was really pleased with. It was my first time showing there, and I was so proud to be placed in such a impressive line up of calves, at such a big show!

Do you have any hobbies out with showing or the farm?

I do really enjoy helping on the farm, so that takes up a lot of my time. I also enjoy playing rugby and seeing my friends, though.

Do you have plans for the future? Do they feature agriculture?

I am only in 1st year at Robert Burns Academy but I am sure I will do something within the agricultural industry when I leave school. I love being outside and working on the farm, so I couldn't see myself ever doing anything else.

Do you have any tips or advice for other young people trying to get in to showing?

I would just say, enjoy it and don't worry where you are placed on the day.