The 70th British National Ploughing Championships were held last week at Mindrum Mill, Northumberland, where Scottish plougher and first time competitor, Brian Baxter, took the reversible title in a strong class.

With the site covering some 300 acres across 14 different fields, the wet conditions didn't stop visitors enjoying a spectacular show of ploughing undertaken by some of the country's best in the business.

Read more: Jock's 'twae beasts'

However, it was a day to remember for Forfar-based Brian Baxter, who ruled supreme in the reversible class having secured a total of 300 points, beating the former champion, Peter Alderslade, from Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, by eight points – who himself had landed the title eight times beforehand. Taking third place was Alan Critchlow from Scropton, Derbyshire, with 277 points.

Brian took to the field with his trusty Massey Ferguson 6120 tractor and Kverneland plough. "This was the first time I had competed in the British Ploughing Championships and I'm delighted to come away with the reversible title. It has been the first match I have ploughed at since 2019, following Covid-19 lockdowns, so it was a great weekend all round," said Brian.

The championship from the horse ploughing section was also won by a Scot, this time by Jim Elliott, from Maud, Aberdeenshire, who was ploughing with Tom – a Shire cross Irish Cob, Pat.

Read more: Countdown to British National Ploughing Championships

Conventional plough-off winner and supreme champion was Ashley Boyles, Market Rasen, Lincolnshire.

LEADING awards:

Reversible final plough-off – 1, Brian Baxter, Forfar, Angus, 310; 2, Peter Alderslade, East Bolden, Tyne and Wear, 302; 3, Alan Critchlow, Scropton, Derbyshire, 277

Conventional final plough-off – 1 and supreme champion, Ashley Boyles, Market Rasen, Lincolnshire, 258; 2, Stuart Vickers, Sarn, Malpas, Cheshire, 258; 3, Evan Watkin, Newtown, Powys, 246

Vintage Trailing final plough-off –1 and vintage champion, John Crowder, Sturton by Stow, Lincolnshire, 251; 2, John Milnes, Sheffield, South Yorkshire, 241; 3,

Trevor Johnstone, Wigton, Cumbria, 231.

Vintage hydraulic final plough-off – 1, Charles Nicklin, Congleton, Cheshire, 258; 2, Richard Ingram, Atherstone, Warwickshire, 255; 3,

John Sivewright, Blairgowrie, Perthshire, 238.

Vintage classic final plough-off – 1, David Thomlinson, Escrick, North Yorkshire, 248; 2, Mac Simpson, Garstang, Preston, Lancashire, 244; 3, David Hankey, Wrexham, Flintshire, 236.

Horse ploughing champion – Jim Elliott.

Young farmers champion – Josh Bullard.

High cut champion – Ray Alderson.