On Saturday, November 11, SAYFC hosted their annual ‘Five Star Awards Dinner’ within the RHASS Centre, Ingliston. The event was hosted in awe of celebrating and acknowledging individuals within the SAYFC.

The evening was hosted by National Chair, Jane Strawhorn and National Competitions Chair and Comedian, Grant Barr. The winners throughout the evening are as follows;

The Richard Huxtable Award- A Special Presentation by RSABI

The Scottish Farmer: Emma Gray - Richard Huxtable AwardEmma Gray - Richard Huxtable Award

The Richard Huxtable Award is presented to a young person for outstanding support of RSABI, either through fundraising, volunteering, or raising awareness of the charity’s services. The award celebrated two winners.

Winners; The SAYFC A to B Cyclists, member Aimee Margrove spoke on behalf of the group; “As young farmers we are always keen to support the brilliant work that RSABI undertakes as a charity, and to be recognised in our fundraising efforts from all the other amazing charity supporters is incredibly humbling!"

Also including winner Emma Gray (Peeblesshire JAC), her words were; “It was a real honour to have been presented with the Richard Huxtable Award, RSABI is a charity so close to my heart since losing my dad to suicide 5 years ago. I’m so grateful to RSABI for the work that they do to help farmers and people in agriculture who are struggling with their mental health.”

Quality Meat Scotland’s Rural Ambassador Award

The Scottish Farmer: Fraser Graham - Rural Ambassador AwardFraser Graham - Rural Ambassador Award

Presented to someone who promotes rural life, whether a member of SAYFC or otherwise, through examples such as events or social media.

Three finalists; Fraser Graham (Crossroads YFC), Yvonne Kennedy (Aberfeldy & District JAC), John McCulloch & Wallace Currie (Dumfries & Galloway District)

Winner; Fraser Graham of Crossroads YFC. Fraser described the being nominated as a great honour; “I'm proud to be a part of SAYFC, and especially a member of Crossroads and District Young Farmers - I owe a huge a huge debt to the rest of the club for their support and encouraging me to push myself.”

SRUC’s Development- Education and Training Award

The Scottish Farmer: Aberfeldy JAC -Development, Education & Training AwardAberfeldy JAC -Development, Education & Training Award

To highlight those as initiatives, a club meeting or an event held by a club which benefited members.

Three finalists; Aberfeldy & District JAC, Carluke YFC, East Aberdeenshire District

Winner; Aberfeldy & District JAC With Club Chair, Katrina Kennedy, celebrating the clubs win; “It was a great achievement for the club to win the development award for our Gundog event at the five-star awards on Saturday night. The club have worked hard the last two years to hold this new event, trying something new to cover all aspects of rural life that the area is surrounded by.”

SGN Energy’s Safety and Wellbeing Award

The Scottish Farmer: Grant Neilson and Jacalyn Dunlop - Safety and Wellbeing AwardGrant Neilson and Jacalyn Dunlop - Safety and Wellbeing Award

Presented to an individual or a group that have encouraged wellbeing or safety events and initiatives within their Club/District/Members.

Three finalists; Emma Gray (Peeblesshire JAC), Ross Jackson (Biggar YFC), Grant Neilson and Jacalyn Dunlop (GJ Coaching)

Winner; Grant Neilson and Jacalyn Dunlop (GJ Coaching) quoting; “ It is a lovely way to be recognised for our efforts in creating & hosting the first ever functional fitness event for Young Farmers members.”

Galbraith’s Community Engagement Award

The Scottish Farmer: Bower YFC - Community Engagement AwardBower YFC - Community Engagement Award

Awarded to a club with active involvement and engagement within their community.

Three finalists; Bower YFC, Callander YFC, Stranraer & Rhins YFC

Winner; Bower YFC with club secretary Beth Douglas; “This year we wanted to focus on building relationships and networking outwith the agriculture industry and found it actually benefitted our club and our members more than expected along the way and we’ve gained a lot of support in return too.”

Johnston Carmichael’s Driving Force Award

The Scottish Farmer: John Forbes - Driving Force AwardJohn Forbes - Driving Force Award

Presented to an individual who encourages and supports their club or district to be the best they possibly can be. Being a positive influence for young members and a true club ambassador.

Three finalists; Jordan Barclay (Strathmore JAC), Anne Craig (East Kilbride), John Forbes (Bower YFC)

Winner; John Forbes (Bower YFC); “Being a member of the Young Farmers movement has provided me with unrivalled opportunities to see, learn from and take part in countless interesting tours, beneficial courses, and exciting activities, all while meeting and getting to know a fantastic group of friends from across the country and beyond.”

RHASS’s Outstanding Contribution Award

The Scottish Farmer: Jane Kennedy - Outstanding Contribution AwardJane Kennedy - Outstanding Contribution Award

The "Outstanding Contribution" (Ritchie Trophy), recognises an individual who has been influential and has significantly contributed to making a visible difference within the SAYFC.

Three finalists; Avril Henderson, Bill Meston, Jane Kennedy

Winner; Jane Kennedy expressed her gratitude; “Young Farmers is a fantastic organisation, which has been part of my life for many years, giving young people from all walks of life a great opportunity to embrace all the educational and fun activities that it offers.”

The presentation of awards was followed by National Vice Chair, Alistair Brunton, giving thanks to those involved. Followed by an auction to raise funds towards the association, carried out SSS YFC member and auctioneer Murray Steel.

SAYFC would like to thank all of those who supported the night and gave up their evening and money in appreciation of their members and achievements.